Home > Uncategorized > In a funk, and Roald Dahl: that crazy sum bitch

In a funk, and Roald Dahl: that crazy sum bitch

So I’m in a writing funk lately. I just haven’t been able to do it, or really wanted to. Part of it has been that I haven’t done anything to cross off the list, but more than anything I have been stressed about life in general. Just all the crap that we allow to get into our heads and mess with our incredible opportunity to live.

Money,

Bills,

Work,

Material stuff,

other people’s stupid drama!

I mean really…who needs it??

So now I am determined to get on with it. I’ve been blessed with an incredible family, health, fantastic friends. What more does any man truly need?

Glad I got that off my chest. I feel much better now.

Like I was saying I don’t have much to say about the list, but I have been amazed at how fast my boys are growing up and how incredible they are. Quite simply the best thing that could have ever happened to Dani and I. Even when I let all that other crap get to me they can pull me up and plaster a smile on my face.

The Code-man

My 5 month old Cody is becoming more and more a kid and less and less a baby every minute. I swear that he is racing to grow up and catch his bigger brother. It actually is breaking my heart to see him get so big and learn so much so quickly.

Riding the boats at the fairgrounds.

Robby, my 2 1/2 year old, is already such a character and now is adding a soundtrack to his life with being able to talk. He is the funniest person sometimes, and others reminds me so much of myself and his mom. He lives with so much enthusiasm that it is a constant reminder for me to enjoy this life. I want to let him keep that innocence for a long as I possibly can, it truly is contagious and addictive as a drug.

That’s a brief look into why I haven’t been burning up the list lately. Would you if you had these two in your life? And I didn’t even get started on their mom, the love of my life. I am a blessed man.

Moving on…

Mass Craziness!!

Roald Dahl was one crazy mofo!! We bought this collection of children’s books to read to our boys. You know…bedtime stories. This guy was off his rocker. The first story that Robby and I read was George’s Marvelous Medicine. I became increasingly concerned as I am explaining to my child that this kid (George) is trying to kill off his Grandmother by mixing together a HazMat. He took everything he could get his hands on (under sinks, in barns, medicine cabinets) and gave it to her to drink. It goes in a totally bizarre direction after that, but I don’t know if kids should be exposed to that being okay.

So I went to another, Fantastic Mr. Fox, which is all about a fox being hunted by three farmers and how he steals from each of them. Which side of the fence do you sit on that one?? I mean Mr. Fox is stealing from the three farmers, but on the other they are attempting to murder the Fox and his family and friends. Great bedtime fodder for dream time right?

At the very least I got two more books done to add to that item. Got to get those 1000 knocked out.

Some other things that have been knocking around in my head…The SF Giants (of course…hope they pull it together soon), Jason Aldean (don’t know why, but going through a bit of a country faze again), Bumfuzzle, and spending a lot of time at my in-laws pool (summer finally arrived with a vengeance last week!)

Hope to talk to you soon.

  1. August 18, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    Roald Dahl is one of my fave authors. It would probably be a shorter list to itemize which books I haven’t read but no matter your age, he’s an entertaining guy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

