Home > Uncategorized > I made it!

I made it!

Just so you all know. I made it the 30 days without soda. I have will power.
I didn’t make it til midnight the last night and down my first Coke when all the hands of the clock were pointed straight up. I didn’t wake up and rush to the waiting bottles. I waited, and when I finally sat down to enjoy my first soda in over 30 days…It was disgusting.
Not the reaction you were looking for. ME EITHER!! Turns out I had been given some bad Coke. Not like a bad batch or anything, just really old, stale and flat. It was like Caro Corn Syrup coating my tongue. When I looked at the imprinted date I discovered that it was over two years past the expiration. Needless to say I was destroyed, disappointed, and devastated. A new triple D.
It took awhile, but deliciousness was finally achieved. It all came flooding back with a splash. I will remember that first good Coke for the rest of my life. Then came the sugar rush. I had a great high for about an hour after when I was just basking in the carbonation and laughing at everything on TV.
I learned that I can control my vice when I really want to. I also learned to make sure to check an expiration date before putting a food product anywhere near my mouth. I also learned that everyone that says you’ll lose weight just by cutting soda out of your diet is lying. I didn’t lose a single pound. Not one and the only thing that I changed was staying away from the soda pop. So don’t believe the hype. It takes work and effort to lose weight, not just staying away from sugar syrup water.
Just like that…What I thought was going to be one of the most difficult is off the list.

  1. February 3, 2011 at 3:33 am

    CONGRATS!!! We all knew you could do it! 🙂 The Expired Coke Catastrophe has unfortnately happened to me as well and ya…totally disgusting. So happy you made it and yay – one less thing off the list!

  2. February 10, 2011 at 10:56 am

    I don’t believe soda impacts my weight either. If I only drink one a day or drink 5, it really doesn’t matter. But congrats on making it 30 days. I gave it up for Lent once and that first one was like the best one I’d ever tasted!

  3. February 10, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    Hooray! I gave up soda a few years back and barely drink it now. I may have 1 a month, on a bad month but generally I stick to water. Last year I gave up fast food for 100 days, that was a little more challenging for me.

    • February 11, 2011 at 7:33 am

      WOW! I don’t know if I could give up fast food for a hundred days. I try not to eat it anyway, but it seems like with my work that sometimes it’s the only feasible option. Then there is In N Out. It really hard to pass up In N Out. Thanks for the comment.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

