Home > books, Bucket List, buried life, Life list, What I want to do before I die > At the very least I have been reading

At the very least I have been reading

Just for the record…I STILL WANT A COKE! Very badly, and I swear all the advertisers are out to do me in. There have been more Coke ads in the last three days than the last three years. Anyway…

Since we are deep into pregnancy and almost to the final countdown I have had much more to do at home and haven’t been out pursuing many list items. I have still found time to read though. I have a goal to try and read each night before bed, whether to my son or for myself. So far it is the one thing that I have been able to keep up with. As I said in an earlier post I received a Kindle for Christmas and was having a hard time picking a book to read. I ended up starting Captain Blood by Rafael Sabatini. This is a great story! It truly has all the elements of a great adventure, false accusations, horrible villains, pirates, damsels in distress, and even a reluctant hero. The language is a bit dated and I really put the dictionary to the test on the Kindle. That has to be the most incredible, awesome, useful tool they could have put in this device. Once you get in the groove of the language the story really moves. I find it hard to believe that Hollywood hasn’t put this on the big screen yet, I guess they are too busy re-doing the Dukes of Hazzard. That was sarcasm, Hollywood really needs to find some original ideas for summer blockbusters is all I’m saying. I was pleasantly surprised that I enjoyed this story as much as I did, but I shouldn’t have been. Since I was a kid I have been mesmerized by Pirates, adventure, the Caribbean and treasure. This was a perfect fit.

Second was The Accidental Billionaires by Ben Mezrich which is the story of the founding of Facebook. That internet site that everyone is connected to in some way or another. This book was incredible. I don’t know how much of it is truth, but I flew through it in three days. I was engrossed with how a small little site could twist and turn so many people. I guess that happens when your talking about that kind of money. If you didn’t already know it is the book that The Social Network used as a basis. I saw the movie after finishing up the book and I have to tell you…read the book. The movie was good and I see why it is getting all the buzz that it is, but the book had so many  more details and brought you deeper into their world. I was pretty astonished that a writer could turn a group of geeks with their faces in a laptop most of the time into such a compelling tale. I don’t care how much was embellished. A good page turner. I haven’t been that obsessed with a book in a long time.

Both good reads

The Kindle has brought a problem to my attention. I love my bookmark, but how do you use a bookmark with a Kindle? I got my bookmark a long time ago, it is stainless steel and has my favorite quote stamped into it. “It is never too late to be what you might have been.”George Eliot. George is the pen name for Mary Anne Evans who was an English novelist the used a male name to ensure that her work was taken seriously. (There you go Robb, a little history on the blog.) Reading that line every time I picked up a book might have influenced me into starting this blog and journey. It has been with me through high school, college, all my career path, marriage and fatherhood. Not too many things can make that claim, but how does it stay relevant in a life with a e-book? If anyone has any ideas feel free to let me know. I need to do something with it because I sure am not going to be getting rid of it.

My bookmark on top of my new Kindle

Alrighty then, til next time.

  1. redminister
    January 24, 2011 at 8:58 am

    Thanks for the comment. Dude…your site is awesome. A great way to keep your bucket list fresh in your mind each day. Knowing me with my ADD, I’ll forget about my bucket list sometime next week. Saw the Social Network and thought it was great. Might have to check out the book now…

    Oh…and saw your lil blurb on P90X. I went through the program when I got stuck in Ohio for 6 months away from my family and nothing to do because it was…well, Ohio. Below were my results. No six-pack, but hopefully sometime in the future? =)

    http://redminister.wordpress.com/2009/10/03/it-is-finished/

    cheers,
    redminister
    (-_-)

    • January 24, 2011 at 9:16 am

      Dude, I’m completely impressed that you finished P90x. That program has been a thorn in my side since I first heard of it a year ago. I just can’t seem to make the time to get it done everyday.
      Oh and keep up on the bucket list. It has been an awesome experience for me so far. In addition to all the friends and unexpected adventures that have come along in the process. Good luck and I’ll be looking for updates.

  2. January 24, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    I love that “George Eliot quote” – I might put up a little post about it on my blog.

    I would have to say my favourite goal from your list is #96. What a brilliant idea.

    Good luck with it all

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

