Home > books, Bucket List, buried life, cooking, food, Life list, out doors, Races, ukiah, What I want to do before I die > Eating, Reading and thinking about working out

Eating, Reading and thinking about working out

Well 2011 is off to a rocky start on the on blog here. I can’t seem to stay up to date on the little things that I have been up to.

I did make a couple of things out of Tyler’s Dinner at my Place almost two weeks ago. An appetizer called Garden Puree Bruschetta that was very different and pretty tasty. It has peas, asparagus and green beans all pureed up with some ricotta so it looks a bit like guacamole, but you spread it over baguette toasts. It was good, so I took it to a party and it seemed that most people couldn’t get past that it wasn’t guacamole. I have to say that it was a great, healthy alternative to most appetizers our there.

Garden Puree Bruschetta...not guacamole

I also put together the famous “Pregnancy Pasta” that Tyler says his wife craved during their son’s pregnancy. I had really high hopes for this recipe as it sounds on paper like all the things in life that are good…topped with bacon’s prettier cousin, Pancetta. Unfortunately Preggo Pasta didn’t live up to the hype. I will shoulder the blame on this one (because I don’t have a Celebrity Chef career and restaurants with my name on them all over the place), but both Dani and I thought that it was a little bit bland. I even went back to the recipe to make sure that I didn’t miss a step or forget an ingredient, but it was what it was. I guess that I was going to have to find at least one recipe that I wasn’t a huge fan of in the book, but I really never considered that this would be the one that would let me down. It wasn’t a total loss though, I got an immersion blender out of the deal. I had always wanted one of those anyway.

Pancetta Carbonara with Fresh Baby Spinach, The famous Preganancy Pasta

I also put another book away around Christmas, Iron Will by Mike Plant. This was given to me by Larry at work and fits right into his active fitness lifestyle. Iron Will is basically a history of the early days of the Ironman Triathlon. It covers about the first decade of the race and how it went from a kooky character test of wills to the endurance phenomenon that it is even today. Ironman has long been a goal and dream of mine, and I really want to do the Hawaii race, so this was a great read to see exactly how it all came about. There are a lot of stories and myths that surround this race and Plant does his best to get to the real truth, but I don’t think any one that wasn’t there will ever know the “real” truth. There are just too many crazy characters and the stories get better and better every time their told. It has rekindled my triathlon spirit again and I need to find a couple of races to do this year. I would love to get another half iron distance (in 2007 I completed the Vineman half Ironman…still one of my proudest accomplishments) under my belt, but I’m about 30 lbs and lots of workouts away from undertaking that.

While we are on the subject, if you haven’t seen the 2010 coverage of the Hawaii Ironman race it’s worth checking out. One of the classic, closest races in the history of Triathlon. Plus it might inspire you to get up and out and do something you don’t think you can do. The best part of those televised specials is the age-groupers (ordinary folks like you and I) coming across that finish line after covering the 2.4 mile swim, 112 mile bike ride, and 26.2 mile run. Chokes me up everytime.

Til next time.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

