So I took a hiatus, so what?

I know that I haven’t put anything up in a while. Had some family things to get done and just haven’t had the time or energy to sit and put it all down.

Started a major project with The Cartman at work. We have started a restoration on the department’s 1923 American La France fire engine.

Getting her backed into this spot was a lot of work.

We call her 1-R and she has been sitting around begging for attention for my entire career. No one at the department knows when the last time she was up and running or was given any attention. We are going to have to find an old timer and get some history. The Cartman and I are planning on starting yet another blog to document the journey of 1-R from a tired old heap to hopefully a gleaming fully functioning fire engine again. I’ll let you know when we get it up and started. And with that #85 Restore an old vehicle is underway.

I came really close to getting on a horse and putting that one to bed finally, but my brother-in-law moved and I ended up helping get them into their new house. I felt bad having to re-schedule on the nice lady that is going to teach me to ride a horse, but family comes first and you have to take care of them when they need it. That’s how I look at it, and I know that I have a family that I can depend on when I need them.

We spent a couple of days in our trailer at a campsite up in Willits finally. Didn’t know if we were going to get to use it this summer,  but now I want to get it back out and go somewhere else soon.

Ah yes, Disneyland. We spent most of last week in the happiest place on earth. It was awesome watching Robby get to see all his favorite toon friends and give them knucks (blowing it up of course), high fives and hugs. He also rocked all the rides that he could, Peter Pan, Dumbo, Small World, and of course Pirates of the Caribbean. I taught him to sing and rock his arm to the “Yo ho” song. It was great. The only thing that was sad was Dani couldn’t ride all of the roller coasters like usual because of our new little one that is growing inside her.

Speaking of, I got to see our new lil one today. It was the first time we got to see what was going on in there. She was jumping around and doing all sorts of flips and summer saults in there. It’s incredible that my love has another of my loves growing inside her. Anyway I’ll put more on that up on Learning Fatherhood.

I got more to say, but it’ll have to wait. I hear my son waking up.

  1. Joe Wright
    September 13, 2010 at 9:53 am

    Good to see soneone starting to fix up the good old American La France. I wish I was in Ukiah still to help out as well. I was reading through the list. We have allot of thing in common that I would like to do as well. I should make a list…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

