Home > books, Bucket List, buried life, cooking, food, Life list, ukiah, What I want to do before I die > Burning Books and Smack Right in the Face

Burning Books and Smack Right in the Face

Got through another book. This was one that I found laying around the house. Dani snagged it from her brothers house for me, probably because it had baseball on the cover. I gave it a shot because, well it had baseball on the cover for starters, but it also took place in the year that I was born. I have always been a little curious about what was going on that year and what better place to get a pulse of the 1977 culture than New York City?

Circa 1977 NYC!!

Mahler takes on all the drama in NY for that year. The mayoral race, the cultural hot spots, the blackout and how it occurred, and of course those DAMN Yankees! Each storyline was engrossing and the more I read the more I couldn’t wait to get back to it.  There was a ton of characters in this Cuomo, Koch, Martin, Jackson, and Munson. If there was any disappointment with this one it was the misleading title. The fire that mentioned is literally given one sentence in the book. The firefighter in me was extremely pissed off. If you say the Bronx is burning then you better talk about the Bronx burning!!

Last Day for these guys on my shift!!!

The next thing that happened was I was thrown into a food fight. It was the last day of B shift as it was. The department decided to shake our shifts up so I was losing three of my members and getting three new ones the next week.

Anyway during the last day JLo mentioned a couple of times that he was going to take a cake throw it into my face. So needless to say I was a little on edge when he and Eric brought back a strawberry Boston cream pie. I watched every little movement they made up through dinner. I was put on high alert when they pulled the pie out and then suggested that we get the chores done. Halfway through chores, Eric and JLo both make a big deal about going to clean the restrooms. Stupid me!! I thought they were making fun of The Cartman.

I go back to wiping off the kitchen table and BAM!!!! Right in the ol’ kisser! Those two punks had bought a bunch of pie tins and filled them with whipped cream. JLo had popped me right in the face and when I lifted my mug out of the sticky sweetness Eric freaked and screamed “There’s some for everyone.” He was standing there with two pie tins full of cream, just standing there. So I took them and went after JLo who had gone after Becky and hit her along the side of her head before she escaped out the door into the night. Me, I wasn’t looking for escape. I wanted the fight! I slammed a tin right into JLo’s face smeared side to side. (Unfortunately, the tin must have had a sharp edge because I sliced his forehead and gave him a pretty big scratch across his forehead.) I think JLo got some more on me, but I went for it and covered his head and face with both pies. By this time Eric came back in with another couple of pies and tried to get into the fight. Big Mistake for ol’ T-Rex!! I guess he didn’t have the arms for this type of fight. He just had no reach.

This is where the fight gets a little weird. I have no idea why the next event happened.

Post-fight Photo of our last night as B Shift

Eric had smacked me with one of the pies and I was able to catch a bunch of the cream and smothered his face with it. Apparently Eric inhaled at this moment and I had covered all his breathing orfices with whipped cream causing him to aspirate some. The next thing we know Eric is vomiting into the sink. Actually vomiting from the whipped cream. JLo and I are rolling on the floor dying of laughter. It was pretty much one of the funniest things I have ever seen in my life.

So here is my theory. I think that Eric got so worked up in the melee that his heart rate spiked and cause him to vomit as a reaction to the adrenaline rush. He just couldn’t handle the action. Some guys have what it takes to go into battle and JLo just picked the wrong guy. Let this be a lesson to everyone, if you are going into a war be damn sure you know who you backing you up.

I do have to thank the boys for starting the food fight. It allows me to cross it off the list. It was a great way to end that B shift era, even though it took hours to clean up after a five minute fight, but I guess that goes with the event. I am really glad that this was on the list. I really feel that everyone should have to get into a fight like this.

Oh, by the way, Becky ran around the station and grabbed a water extinguisher and sprayed all of us down to end the fight. Not really a stand up thing to do in the food fight, but at least she didn’t flee and leave me to fend for myself. And she didn’t get sick in the middle of the battle. Like someone else’s partner in crime.

  1. John Scott Porterfield
    July 15, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    Great website. Keep up the blog. You write well.

    John Scott Porterfield

    • August 20, 2010 at 11:51 am

      Thanks for checking it out. Trying to get back into the habit of writing. Might want to check out my other one. learningfatherhood.blogspot.com

      John

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

