Home > Bucket List, buried life, cooking, food, Life list, What I want to do before I die > Denied!!! Old friends and Roscoe C&W

Denied!!! Old friends and Roscoe C&W

Baby I’m coming home!!!! At long last I’m leaving the LA basin and heading back north where I belong.

So yesterday I made plans to meet my old friend Burl in the afternoon. I hadn’t seen Burl in probably 10 years. At least that is what we came up with, neither of us was really clear on the last time we saw each other. It was great catching up and reminiscing about the days when we practically lived together with our other buddies. Those were days of parties, volleyball, and trying to meet girls. Today we are both married with good jobs, I have a kid and sounds like Burl has been thinking about having a child. Maybe. We talked about the list and he thought it was awesome.

It's good to keep in touch with old friends.

It was really good to meet up and spend a couple hours with a friend that I never meant to fall out of touch with. The last couple of months I have been making contact and keeping up with my friends much more frequently than I have in the past. As much as goes on in everyone’s life I am making this a higher priority in my life.

After saying goodbye to Burl I headed back to the hotel and realized I was really close to a DDD called Paul’s Coffee Shop.

Not a 24 hour establishment.

Pulled up and hopped out hoping to just get a snack and cross another off the list. However as I walked in all the chairs were up on the tables and the waitress met me at the door. She was very polite, but informed me that they closed an hour and a half ago. BUMMER! Oh well. I can’t say that this week I haven’t eaten at my fair share of Fieri’s stops. It has been very productive for that item on the list. Not to mention all the great food that I have had.

So we had to go to the school and grab the kids shirts so that they will look clean at their graduation. We had to wait 3 hours for their bus to get there from the training site that the girls were at. 3 hours! That is not late, that is wrong. I was starving! Now I was really bummed that Paul’s closed their doors so early. The original plan was to hit up another DDD in another part of the city, but since we didn’t leave the school until 8:30 all of the ones that were within reach had closed for the night. Instead we hit up another LA area icon…Roscoe’s Chicken and Waffles.

We got to Roscoe’s at a little after 9:00 and placed orders to go. I got the staple of chicken and waffles. This night it turned into one thing after another. It took almost an hour and a half to get our food. We didn’t leave until 10:30. At least at Roscoe’s we weren’t alone in our misery. They has a entire waiting room full of people just as unhappy as we were. All I kept thinking is that this had better be worth it. I mean who hasn’t heard of chicken and waffles? Its an unusual american culinary creation that boggles the mind when you hear about it. Well, it was delicious. I don’t think that I would return and wait such a long time for it but I ate half a chicken and two waffles. It was the perfect combination of savory and sweet. The chicken was great, perfectly seasoned and cooked very well. All the pieces were crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. Now the waffles were where I thought it would get weird. Not at all. They really compliment the chicken and would be great in their own right. Very tasty and have a great hint of cinnamon. It was a good end to a very frustrating evening. I would reccommend Roscoe’s, but make sure you have the time to spend waiting for both table and food. I would also go in expecting to be treated fairly rudely by the staff. They just have better things to do than worry about customers there. I watched the hostess gossip with some of her friends for an hour. Another waitress kept coming out and playing with her baby, that her mother was watching and waiting for the waitress to get off work, for 10-15 minutes at a time. One young man, well I don’t really know what he does, sat at the entry area with a scrowl and leaning on his elbow. Wouldn’t check on orders or put people on the wait list or anything. They do have good food, but I don’t know if the food is worth the circumstances surrounding it.

Well I have to go…home. I gotta get my bags packed!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

