Home > Bucket List, Life list, What I want to do before I die > Just shows you what you can do when you put your mind to it

Just shows you what you can do when you put your mind to it

30 days… I made it 30 days without any meat.

It all ended this morning with one piece of bacon, then another and another. Then we broke into the Salumi salami, which is one of the best things that I have ever eaten. Both of them. I can’t say enough about these cured meats. So I will say that everyone should try them if they ever get a chance. It is worth any effort that it takes to get them.

We then washed that down with a big helping of bisquits and gravy. Might have been a little overload after such a long lay off, but it did make me realize just how much I love food. All foods. As much as I have missed meat in the last month I have a greater appreciation for everything else and how things compliment each other. I also learned that I can overcome cravings and temptation when I really put my mind to it. I also found out just how much people will go out of their way to place temptation in your face. To all those people that try to make me fail it makes me feel good to say I succeeded and made it through the challenge with my veggie vow intact. Just as there were people looking to see me fall, I had countless others that were helping me. First and foremost was my wife Dani. Without her support and keeping me on the straight and narrow I probably would have folded and caved four weeks ago. I also wanted to give a thanks to the Cartman for taking the journey with me…even if he ate seafood along the way. It was great to have a partner in veg, especially at work where the temptation was the strongest. We were able to joke and give each other support when we were weak. It was also his idea to celebrate with the Salumi.

Thanks to everyone that has been so helpful in letting me know when opportunities arise. Ed, a firefighter I work with, let me know about an event that Robin Williams is known to attend regularly and how we might be able to get tickets in order to meet him and knock that off the list.

Feel free to let me know what your thinking of all this also. Maybe how I can get some of this stuff done.

I am very proud of myself for making it to the end of this. And just like that another item is off the list…on to the next one whichever one that may be.

  1. Raja
    February 28, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    Congrats..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

