Home > Uncategorized > Slow week

Slow week

It was brought to my attention that I have been lax in keeping up on my blogging so I thought I had better get a post up.

I had a slow week as far as the list was concerned, mostly due to my son’s birthday party and the associated clean up. Who knew that a one year old could get so many things. Every square inch of our living room has been covered with his new toys, and as soon as you pick everything up he wakes up and pulls it all out again. Good thing I love that little monkey. (But I can’t wait til he is old enough to be told to clean up after himself.)

I did work on finding a digital single lens reflex camera in that I researched and decided I want either a Nikon D3000, D5000 or a D90. I would be happy with any of these, but will likely settle on the D3000 since it is the cheapest. However I can still take all of the pictures that I would like to with it. Now that I have checked out cameras again I am all hot and bothered to get one and start using it again. Looking into cameras again has sparked my interest in photography again. Somewhere I forgot that I really liked all that goes into taking good pictures. I even found my old 35mm and am interested in using it again, only I would rather put all the money that I would spend on film, development and printing towards a digital that I wouldn’t have to spend all that on. I would also be free to experiment with augmenting the pics using a photoshop type program myself. I’m hoping to procure a DSLR soon.

I was also able to get a baby carrier backpack to take Robby with my on hikes. As soon as the weather cooperates I would like to try and get out and get some pics at some of the “local” waterfalls. I have to start getting through the 50 that I will need in order to cross that off my list.

This year’s Banks’ family camping trip is going to be up at Lake Almanor in the Sierras. Due to some scheduling conflicts, in that we didn’t schedule our traditional trip to Lake Francis soon enough, we are going to a new campground in a new area. This is actually going to benefit the waterfall collection in that there are several in the area that are quite easy, according to my awesome little guidebook. It is also a great little lake with lots of other recreational distractions for our trip. I am really looking forward to this trip. It is always a good feeling once you plan a vacation and have the date down as a goal. Now all I have to do is get to the end of July.

Yesterday was my mother’s birthday and Dani, Robby and I had dinner with her and some of her friends at Patrona. I was able to stick to my vegetarian vow by having some chard crepes, which were really good. My mom and her friends are all excited about their trip to Italy later this year. I am extremely jealous of the trip and really wish that we were going with them. It sounds like a great time exploring Tuscany for a couple weeks.

So today I get back to work and walk in to the LOVELY smell of bacon wafting through the station. “A” shift was apparently miffed at my heartfelt gift of the leftover birthday cake to the station. In order to punish me, for giving them cake mind you, they polluted the station’s atmosphere with the deliciousness of bacon in the air. It took every ounce of will power in my being not to sneak a small piece, but I persevered. It was a truly vicious attack on my vegetarian vow as I’ve been calling it recently.

I really hope that I have better news in the near future.

  1. January 14, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    Glad to hear you are getting back into photography! I hope you get some lightening (that doesn’t send you to a fire) so you can get some pictures! Enjoy Lake Almanor…we do lake trips there too. Oh…and I have an idea for your zip-lining goal…the San Diego Wild Animal Park has ‘flightline’, and while you are here you can do all sorts of things…like introduce me to Robby!!! I’ve been trying to get you and Dani down here forever and here’s a real reason! http://www.sandiegozoo.org/park/special/flightline

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

