Home > Uncategorized > The Cactus Eaters

The Cactus Eaters

So I finished another book towards my 100.

This one I have to take the extra effort to get out there as I enjoyed it so much.  The Cactus Eaters by Dan White is a documentation of his through hike of the Pacific Crest Trail. For anyone that has undertaken something that seems impossible it will strike a chord and bring back floods of memories. Those of us that haven’t ever attempted any epic crusade it just may be the inspiration that you need to find that challenge. The book is funny and a real rememberance of a great trip. They have ups and downs while meeting a cast of characters that are so out there that they have to be real. No one would make some of them up.

I know that everyone says this, but I really couldn’t put this book down. It made me laugh out loud many times, sometimes waking up the others sleeping in the dorm at work. Sorry boys. I don’t want to give anything away because discovering this adventure was truly a great experience. It has also motivated me to research what it is going to take to bag the John Muir Trail. Hopefully I can find my own partner in crime to hike the JMT. I really want to know what the feeling will be like to stand on top of Mount Whitney at the finish, not only hiking a national scenic trail, but taking down the tallest peak in the continuous United States.

In other news I want to throw out my support for Sam and Koli on this season’s Biggest Loser!! I’m pulling for my hometown boys (kinda) down from Rohnert Part and Windsor. Kick ass boys!!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

