Home > Uncategorized > Ink’d up

Ink’d up

I put this item on the list with only a half-hearted belief that I would actually go through with it. I never really considered myself a tattoo man. Probably because it was drilled into my head that “good” people didn’t have tattoos. They were the marks of thugs, criminals, and low life’s. What a crock!
What I had actually said was that I would never get anyone’s name tattooed on me…especially a girl. I believed that as soon as anyone did that the clock was ticking before they split. Dani and I had talked about it many times and it was always the same. She thought I wasn’t really committed to her…even though she has a wedding ring, two adorable kids of mine and we have ridden more than our fair share of ups and downs in our relationship. I always answered that I would NEVER get anything permanent because then she would be headed out the door.
Then Valentines day arrived. Dani has been “saying” that she wants to get a tattoo to symbolize our boys, but she never did anything about it. (Kinda like I did about a lot of things before I started this list, and still do about most things.) I usually gave her a pretty hard time about getting a tattoo. How I was against it, it might be trashy, what if she didn’t like how it turned out. So I figured she would be pretty surprised when I went and got her a gift certificate for her tattoo.
The more I thought about it the less I could see any reason to not have something for Dani tattooed on me. She is the love of my life, my best friend and the mother of my children. No matter what the future holds I know we will be together. I simply cannot fathom a life without her…enough of the gushy stuff. I found a copy of her signature and took it with me to the tattoo shop. I had decided to get it placed on my wrist. She was going to flip!

20120823-162341.jpg
I felt bad because it took a lot longer to set up the station that it did to do the tattoo. Less than 10 minutes and I was done. Permanently branded as the property of Danielle Corippo. I love it though. I can’t imagine not having it now. It just fits. Oh, and she flipped out. I don’t think she really believed that I had gotten an actual tattoo of her name. For a few days I wondered if she was expecting it to wash off eventually.

20120823-163000.jpg
I ran into a dilemma afterwards though. I didn’t think that I had truly gotten “enough” of a tattoo to claim on my list. Sure it meant the world to me and I think it’s pretty awesome, but it took less than 10 minutes and really is just a couple of squiggly lines. Dani has gotten to the point that she can draw it out in a second or less.
Leave it to her to solve my dilemma for me. Fathers day I received a gift certificate to get another tattoo. This one was going to be something that I had been kicking around since we got married and went on our honeymoon to Hawaii. The problem I always had was that I would add things to it. I knew I wanted a tiki god, one of the love gods that are protecting their family. I also wanted to incorporate my fire fighting badge. My department has adopted a pretty unique badge, not one of those that every firefighter has that you can bulk order out of a magazine, but a true Maltese cross. I would have to include something for our first child, Daisey our lovable yellow lab. Then we went and had our boys, no way could I get out of having them in it.
So it never seemed to be rock solid, but now I had been pushed up against the wall.
Mark Phillips at Trust Tattoo in Ukiah nailed it though. It turned out more perfect than I could have ever imagined.

20120823-163937.jpg
After more than three hours of pain and suffering as the needle dug in and out of my leg I had it. Mark had taken a pretty simple line drawing and idea and turned it into a remarkable piece of art…on my leg! He incorporated all of the things that I was asking for and I think it’s badass!!! It has made me think I’m pretty awesome strolling around in shorts this summer. Everyone has had great things to say about him. I really don’t know what took me so long to go for it, but I’m glad that Dani finally pushed me into it.
And just like that my list is smaller by one more item…

  1. July 4, 2013 at 10:53 am

    I got my tattoo when I was 19 and I actually don’t regret it. It’s small and on my hip so that you really can’t see it unless I’m wearing a bathing suit and it’s a drawing of a bull that I did myself so at least I know it’s unique.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

